Another week in the books. A much better week for me. For the first time since I started, I worked out four weekdays (five if you include the pay-for-pain session with Trish). It’s a goal I set for myself back in February so now we’re on to the next one.

Back in December, when Christian and Tara first demonstrated the Clean, we were using Dumb-bells. My brain couldn’t comprehend jumping up but also getting low. The disconnect continued into work-outs and WODs until Monday night. The WOD had a total of 55 reps of Power Cleans and since Monday’s work-outs have usually been predictors of the Open work-out, I knew I had to get them down. With a simple instruction from Christian, “Let me see the bar touch your thigh,” my head wrapped itself around the Clean. As I got close to my jumping point, I was taking the bar off my leg. It wasn’t intentionally bad form, but it was quite wrong. I’d been mighty concerned about different mechanics: shrugging the bar, fast elbows, trying to jump, etc. but I wasn’t able to put it all together until then. My form isn’t great, but it’s officially (read: finally) on its way.

Back Squats reared themselves on Tuesday and I kept the weight light. I need to for the sake of getting deep and building up my weak posterior chain. Every Squat felt better than the one before it and I got confirmation from Doug that I was definitely progressing. But always remember, CrossFitters, friends don’t let friends Squat shallow. Always get deep! And pop right back up. No need to hang out down there, as I was prone to do at the start. Squatting was grand, but the WOD wasn’t kind: a pyramid of Inch-Worm Push-Ups (for those of us not doing Wall Walks), Hand-Release Push-Ups, Goblet Squats (for those of us not Overhead Squatting), Ring Rows (for those of us not doing Pull-Ups) and an 800m run. As Christian and Tara were explaining it, Doug laughed to himself and wondered what we’d done to earn such a thing (he, of course, programmed it). It kicked my ass, but the problem came during the run. My right calf cramped up close to a quarter of the way through. I didn’t finish the pyramid, but hot damn did I work for 25 minutes. Which brings us right over to Wednesday and the lovely, wonderful Trish.

Trish is CrossFit South Shore’s resident physical therapist. She appears nice and friendly. You can even have a conversation with her while she works on you. My shoulders are in a much better state than they were just a few months ago thanks to her work and advice. So after Romanian Deadlifts Monday and my calf cramp Tuesday, I figured I could take a break from shoulders and have her work on my legs. As she worked my hamstrings, I began regretting this session. My calf was next and I should’ve known something was up when I heard murmurs around me. An audience had gathered—Mike L., Danny and Doug. They were giddy. See, when Trish works your calf, she’s actually trying to grind it into a fine powder. Without hyperbole or exaggeration, after my gallbladder seizing in 2005, this was the most pain I’ve experienced. Relief wouldn’t come until she stopped and by that point, I’d taken to laughing because I couldn’t even cry. But as always with her work, it was worth it. My legs are looser and in a lot less pain. Just need to up their mobility. And never let Trish touch them again.

Friday was a blur of Front Squats and a mean, cardio-intensive WOD. I concentrated on my balance with the Front Squats—I lean forward too much on these and Goblet Squats. The work-out went by like a blur and soon we were into cardio hell. Once upon a time, I did cardio every day, for many minutes. That time was before September of 2012 and not since. Now I’m easily winded. And man, when you’re out there running 400m and it’s just you and that annoying voice, things get tough. Cardio WODs are much more individual WODs: everyone’s fighting their own battle, moreso than usual, anyways and it’s easier than normal to let exhaustion in. I did a lot to combat that in the row and run, but it was Doug with the assist during the last of the Burpees. I wanted a break between each one. My lungs were begging for it and I obliged. Until Doug. Then I did the rest I needed to without breaking because I could. I just needed to be reminded. All I had to do was get down and get up.

So, 13.4. Clean and Jerk @ 135 lbs and Toes to Bar. I haven’t done Toes to Bar since On-Ramp, which is where my shoulders first flared up. Thankfully, I have the flexibility to do them but not the practice to do them efficiently. Either way, they weren’t my worry. My 1RM for the Clean and Jerk was 135 lbs. I managed that during the second Challenge work-out in February and wanted to see how much I’d improved on the C&J. I came in early to stretch my shoulders and chest and build up to 135 lbs. After Christian critiqued my form at 115 lbs, I gave 135 lbs a go and put it up without an issue. Confidence was high. I judged for Mike L. (check out his own writings in the links to the left), who went first. He hasn’t been able to go at 100% due to a wrist injury but the man is dedicated to CrossFit. Once the timer counted down, Mike got after it. His work helped me build even more confidence.

To get it out of my system early, I earned a no rep on my first attempt. Control lacked overhead and it didn’t feel like a good lift. The next one did. Earlier I’d told Christian I could get one and wanted two. His response was simple but poignant: “If you can get two, you can get three.” So I did. Toes to Bar went by quickly and I was back at the Cleans. The work was tougher this time but again, doable. I made the mistake of not having a hook-grip locked in on one Clean (sorry Tara! Never again) and now I know why we use the hook-grip. Such a simple technique makes a monstrous difference. Once I finished these six, I went back to swinging. My lack of efficiency in getting my toes up was evident in this set. I struggled. I tore open my hand (my first tear! I was so proud). But I got the six with less than 20 seconds left. I went after the barbell, gathered myself and put one last Clean & Jerk in the books.

It was a small moment, but it mattered. I had Christian and Steve and Mike all yelling for me to get back on the bar, get another rep. When I got it with three seconds left, they popped. I popped. All over 19 reps. But it wasn’t about the number. Yes, the numbers mean a lot in the Open. They have to. But every day, every Open, the number’s not important. It’s the person and their individual effort. I watched Kerry practice and practice and practice to get 95 lbs over her head before the WOD. When she did, the entire gym was watching and cheered. Once the clock was on, she got her one immediately. She kept at it for all seven minutes. But her story and mine repeated all over the gym. Like with Grace. And Mike. Louis and any number of the Brians (there are a lot of you guys). People fighting to do better, to get one more or one at all. Every week, no less. I’m as awestruck watching people work now as I was for 13.1. The determination and heart is unparalleled, cheesy as that may sound. Tara was absolutely right when she said it takes guts to face the bar. It’s what we do, and that’s commendable.

Leave a comment